Adult Butterfly

Butterfly Life Cycle

As advanced insects, butterflies and moths have a "complete" life cycle. This means that there are four separate stages, each of which looks completely different and serves a different purpose in the life of the insect.

Butterfly Eggs

Stage One



Stage two

The caterpillar (or larva)

Butterfly Pupa

Stage three

The chrysalis (or pupa)

Stage Four

The Adult Butterfly

Download Infographic